On the Side

Croutons Fleur d'Ail

Homemade beats all
Preparation
10 minutes
Cooking
16 - 20 minutes
Servings
10
Great With
Soup and salad

Homemade croutons

So we all know that soups or salads are exponentially improved with a little bit of an added crunch (If you didn't know, it's never too late to try) and even more so if that little crunchy companion tastes like garlic - buttery heaven. Croutons have been the misunderstood sidekick of many famous dishes for many years and that's because their taste is usually either too bland or well... too bland... and eating dehydrated bland bread isn't really all that attractive in many cultures (Although "pan calado" is quite popular in Colombia for some reason)

Enter: Butter & Ail (Garlic). Garlic scapes to be precise. They are to bread what pantyhose and masks are to Robin from Batman. A seemingly boring piece of bread has now the superpower to make your soup, salad and even your day so much better, and here's how.

Just some bread bathed in garlic ready to become a crouton



Piece of advice, using a local bakery parisian-style bread (or homemade bread) as a base can really make things improve further. And just remember to shape your bread depending on what you want to do: cubes for soups, triangles for salads and slices for tartares.

Parisian Bread
Parisian Style Bread

Ingredients

  • Fresh bread cut in cubes (or slices, depends on what you're eating)
  • 3 tablespoon of finely chopped garlic scapes
  • ½ teaspoon of each dried herbs (thym, origano, basil)
  • ½ teaspoon of salt and pepper
  • ¼ cup of melted butter (measure it before melting - obvvy)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

From "meh"... to "damn!"

  • Preheat the oven at 350F, prepare a baking tray covered with a baking sheet.
  • In a big bowl, mix all the ingredients except the bread.
  • Add the bread, make sure every piece of bread is fully covered of the mixture
  • Put on the baking sheet, make sure you scrape the bowl to keep all the flavors.
  • Cook for 8 minutes then turn the bread pieces. Put back in the oven for 8 to 10 minutes.
  • Let it cool for a couple of minutes.
  • Just drop them in, let them soak a bit and smile.

They taste as they look. A little saltier maybe

Crunchy outside and slighlty chewy on the inside, feel free to try with all kinds of soup, and if you're feeling a little bit adventurous give it a try in this breakfast soup from the Colombian Andes (spoiler alert! it's just too good, not mentioning its hangover healing properties)


Always more to explore

À Côté

Croutons à la fleur d'ail

Preparation
10 minutes
Cooking
16 à 20 minutes
Servings
10
Great With
Salade & Soupe

Croutons Maison Vite Fait

Pas de surprise ici, on sait tous qu’un petit croquant ajouté à une soupe ou à une salade aura comme effet d'améliorer le résultat de façon exponentielle (si tu savais pas, il est temps d’essayer). Le crouton a quelque peu été mis de côté tout simplement car trop souvent il est insipide, un morceau de pain sec sans saveur n’a rien de très sexy. C’est probablement pourquoi il reste inconnu pour plusieurs cultures (malgré que le “pan calado” reste populaire en Colombie, pour une raison quelconque) La seule explication qui me vient en tête est que le croustillant est recherché.

Et arrive: l’ail et le beurre. Ici rien d’extraordinaire. Mais lorsqu’on utilise la fleur d’ail c’est là que la magie opère. Ils sont au pain ce que les collants et les masques sont pour Robin (tu sais, l’ami de batman?!). Un morceau de pain plate a alors les super pouvoirs de rendre ta petite soupe ou ta belle salade et surement ta journée franchement meilleure (ben oui!).

Prêt à être enfourné


Un petit conseil, utiliser un pain frais de boulangerie (ou encore fait maison) améliore de beaucoup la qualité du croûton, j’aime particulièrement le pain parisien. Coupe ton pain selon ce que tu prépares, petits morceaux pour ta salade, cubes moyens pour les soupes et tranchés pour tes tartares ou en petit coeur si c’est qui te rend heureux.

Pain parisien

      Ingredients

      • Pain frais tranché en cubes (2 tasses en cubes environ)
      • 3 cuil à table de Fleur d’ail haché
      • ½ cuil thé de chacunes herbes séchées (thym, origan, basilic)
      • ½ cuil thé de sel et de poivre
      • ¼ tasse de beurre fondu (mesuré dur)
      • 1 cuil à table d’huile d’olive

      Vas-y à peu près, pas besoin de sortir ta tasse à mesurer!

      DE BOF... À WOAH!


      Faire chauffer le four à 350F et préparer une plaque de cuisson recouverte d’un papier parchemin

      • Mélanger dans un grand bol la fleur d’ail, les herbes séchées, sel et poivre, le beurre fondu ainsi que l’huile d’olive.
      • Ajouter le pain dans le bol et s’assurer que chaque morceau de pain soit bien recouvert du mélange
      • Étendre sur la plaque en grattant bien le bol.
      • Faire cuire 8 minutes, sortir la plaque et retourner les croûtons. Remettre au four pour une durée de 8 à 10 minutes.
      • Laisser refroidir quelques minutes.

      Si tu fais de petits croutons, le temps peut être moindre d'environ 2 minutes, dépendant de la force de ton four.

      Aussi bon que présenté

      Croquant de l’extérieur avec une mini touche de moelleux à l’intérieur. Sens toi libre de l’essayer avec n'importe quelle soupe mais si tu te sens juste un peu aventureux essaie le avec la soupe de déjeuner de la Colombie (je ne peux m’empêcher d’en parler mais c’est le remède parfait pour soigner ton lendemain de veille).

      Toujours plein à découvrir :)